Chronic Kidney Disease

Home / Chronic Kidney Disease

The current definition of Chronic Kidney Disease

  1. Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR) of less than 60 cc/min/1.73m2 for a period greater than three months. 
  2. Kidney Damage for greater than or equal to three months, as defined by structural or functional abnormalities of the kidney, with or without a decrease in GFR, manifest by EITHER:
    1. Pathological abnormalities on a biopsy of the kidney
    2. Markers of kidney damage, including abnormalities in the composition of blood or urine specimen (blood, protein, white blood cells in urine) or significant x-rays or ultrasound of the kidneys.

The stages of Chronic Kidney Diseases start at Stage 0 and progress to Stage V which is severe kidney failure requiring dialysis.  The stages are defined by the level of GFR and the urinary abnormalities.  You can find out more by looking at the links under education to GFR calculator and the National Kidney Foundation on the stage of Chronic Kidney Disease.

The blood test called the Creatinine is vital in determining the GFR by an equation called the Modified MDRD equation.  Ask your doctor what stage of kidney disease you have, your creatinine, and GFR.  Your GFR can be easily calculated by following the MDRD GFR Link.

Disease StageMDRD GFR mL/min/1.73m2Description:
Increased Risk>=90 with risk factorsIncrease Risk for Developing CKD
One>=90Kidney Damage with Normal GFR
Two60-89Kidney Damage with Mildly Reduced GFR
Three30-59Moderately reduced GFR
Four15-29Severely Reduce GFR
Five<15Kidney Failure and Dialysis requiring